Punjab bans public transport in nine cities across province

March 31, 2021 6:19 pm by Web Desk

The Punjab Transport Department (PTD) banned all types of public transport, on Tuesday in nine cities of Punjab including Lahore.

In this regard, a notification has been issued by the transport department.

Public transport modes include intra-city buses, coaster service, taxi, rickshaw, qingqi rickshaw, Speedo buses, Metro bus Service, and Orange Line Metro train.

According to the sources, the transport authorities have also launched a crackdown against public transport violating government orders.

The Punjab govt on Monday banned wedding ceremonies, including both indoor and outdoor, from April 1. It further decided that markets and shopping malls across the province will close at 6pm.

Punjab recorded as many as 2,467 new cases of COVID-19 and 73 deaths in the last 24 hours, the provincial health department said in a statement on Tuesday.

In a day 73 more patients of the disease died by coronavirus in the province, Punjab’s Primary and Secondary Healthcare Department stated. The tally of total deaths by Covid-19 in the province has reached 6,317, the health department stated.

Lahore reported 1,402 new cases of the virus in a single day, according to the health department.

The steep surge in the COVID-19 cases has made various regions ‘high-alert’ across the nation.

Source link

Previouse Post :«

Next Post : »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *